The Expired E-Possum

I found an expired possum
in my inbox
 
A dead person wants to be
my facebook friend
but
he’s liberated, so why
drag him back in?
 
Two nights ago I chased a dream
into my body pillow
and came up with it writhing-
neuron goo dumping
all over the sheets
 
I followed it into facebook:
it emerged as an unappreciated poke
wallowing in sorrow
 
To hear the atonal screams
of a tortured e-possum
is enough to turn me catholic again
 
I click “deny friend request”
and burrow a hole in my shag carpet
patiently anticipating the alarm
 
The sounds of industry whir and bang
to the west,
under the bed
a sleeping facebook snores for attention

2 Comments

Filed under poetry

2 responses to “The Expired E-Possum

  1. You know what’s weird? Lately I have been thinking about some of the odd little things you mentioned in this poem. Dead people on Facebook, namely. It was just after my mom passed away, took her own life really, and I was checking her FB account and decided to accept a bunch of people that sent her friend requests and it just felt weird. Love the weird “expired e-possum” beginning point and also love “neuron goo dumping”.

    • Thanks for the comment. I really like how the dead are, in a way, eulogized extensively on Facebook. I’ve been touched a couple of times. Though this poem isn’t really about that; it’s about, well, a bunch of subconscious imagery crammed together and tied loosely with dental floss. Thank you again for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

