my twenties died today

I’ve got twenty minutes left in my twenties
and I couldn’t tell you how many memories I’ve forgotten
because then I wouldn’t have forgotten them

I’m barely awake on a vinyl recliner in a massive hospital
three stories up from the pavement earth that will one day claim me

my daughter is just three days old
she has remnants of being wedged in the cervix
written across her slightly oblong head
as she fitfully sleeps in a clear sanitary bassinet

my love turns to me and says:
I don’t know if you noticed
but Zoe has an extra long buttcrack

is that something we should worry about?
I reply, typing these words into a laptop

the little clock in the corner of the screen reads 11:58
and suddenly my twenties are nothing but nostalgia

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

