If I Only Knew How

I would tell you the kind of person I am
if I only knew how

I would expound for hours on my inner mechanisms
if I only understood them

I would write a dissertation on my brain chemistry
if I had a friggin’ clue to begin with

yet I’m stuck somewhere along the fringes
glimpsing in from the outside

carving a line of shimmering red energy
into unknown territory

shooting a water cannon loaded with blood
at the orange harvest moon

reciting a blabber of foreign languages
to the sea the beach and the crabs

galloping and skipping lost in the sand
for the world to see that I have no clue at all

relentlessly hammering away at words
that only make sense when I read them in the morning

repeating an ancient echo
reborn once again in this clueless and addicted artist

I would tell you the kind of person I am
if I only knew how

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

