the arrogant and uncomfortable truth of things

bukowski.jpg

I’m putting up the poems for good this time.

I’m hanging them outside
on that rusty fence made of wire
hoping the poems with suffer tetanus and die.

I’m wadding them up
lighting them on fire
or just plain deleting them to oblivion.

I’m serious.
I can’t get anything done
with these fucking poems hanging around.

But-
It seems the more I hide them away
the more I see your poems.

Those poor little poems
packaged so pretty
with nothing inside except dust and spit.

I just shake my head
pull the old bastards out
and tinker some more.

Somebody has to do it
if only for the love of all poetry.

Somebody has to balance out the shit.

-this poem appears in Calliope nerve XI

6 Comments

Filed under poetry, published work

6 responses to “the arrogant and uncomfortable truth of things

  1. Wow, I love this one!

    The picture fits perfectly too, who is it of?

  2. That is the venerable and pitiful Charles Bukowski. I wrote a couple of poems that seemed to channel him, in a way. This is one of them. The other one is even meaner. It’s yours if you want the poem, of course.

  3. I just took it for issue eleven of Calliope Nerve. Thank you! This poem is really good.

  4. I’m glad you like it.

  5. the one

    you fucking cunt bastard. don’t use bukowski’s image and pass it off as you. give the photo credit. what if someone stole your shitty peom and didnt give you credit?

    • Nobody thinks I am Bukowski. I wrote this poem as an homage to his style. I am not ripping anything off, and the photo is linked back and credited. Thank you for the kind words “the one.” Next time show your face before calling me names. At least provide a website so I can rush to judgement and make incorrect assumptions about you. Oh wait, I wouldn’t do that. I have things like honor and respect for my fellow writers. Please control your anger and maybe try to make me a friend instead of whatever the hell you are trying to do here.

Leave a Reply

