Pygmy Blowfish on Land

Last night
a dream speared me in the neck.
Pain! Shit hurts!

Heads of an old and almost forgotten friend
psychedelically descending into the deep
of a blue-lit clearing in the rainforest.

Sight is sand on a board shifting
depth glazed under by infinity
clouds golden and never there.

Swinging inside I am.
All sounds coalesce into a blob, a basketball,
then her head again.
The shampoo falls from the shelf and jars me awake.

And there’s a boulder under my skin
between my shoulder and my skull
where the dream snipers took aim.

1 Comment

Filed under poetry

One response to “Pygmy Blowfish on Land

  1. Nice ending to this one.

Leave a Reply

