Miniature Birds From Lagos

Oooooo! Oooooo!
I hear birds talking in the bathroom walls!
Could you translate the Hausa for me?
These birds are Nigerian.

Can you operate a sink?
I never learned how,
but I suspect we can flush the birds out.

A tiny, tiny bird flew into my uncle’s ear
as he shirtlessly mowed the lawn last week.
He told me it laid eggs,
and only ventures out for straws and used lollipop sticks.

Something tells me the birds in the walls
are just like the one in his hairy ear.
If that’s the case they’re small indeed,
and we can flush them out.

But I need you to turn on the sink,
and don’t bother to teach me how.
Momma said I’ll never learn.

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

